Pulteney Bridge, Bath

Pulteney Bridge was originally designed by Robert Adam and was completed in 1773. It crosses the River Avon in Bath and is one of only four bridges in the world with shops across the full span on both sides. This lettering is now on the facade of a flower shop, in the middle of the south side of the bridge. As the bridge has been altered over the years, it’s unclear if this dates from 1773, but it is around 200 years old.

It’s simple, elegant lettering and consistent with the other styles of lettering naming the Georgian streets of Bath. I must have walked over this bridge thousands of times in my life, but it was only when I decided to become a lettercutter that I started to notice and appreciate the lettering around me. If my work could be appreciated in 200 years time I would be a very happy man.

This entry was posted in Lettering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment